TPP trade deal advances without the United States

November 2017 | Singapore

On the side-lines of the recent Asia – Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Leader’s Summit in Vietnam, the remaining 11 member countries of the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) (Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, and Vietnam) have agreed to proceed with a “new” trade pact, named the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for the TPP (CPTPP). The countries have managed to reach an agreement on the core elements of the legal text and will continue with discussions for conclusion of the restructured agreement.

Contact us

Frank Debets

Frank Debets

Managing Partner, Asia Pacific & Singapore, PwC Asia Pacific Customs and Trade

Tel: +65 6236 7302

Follow us